You’re the Worst’s season 3 premiere continues to defy its title

NkAELlPuIFg.market_maxres

When I first heard about FXX’s You’re the Worst, I was skeptical. On the surface, the show seemed overdone and I was uninterested before watching even one second of the show. After my girlfriend and I blew through all 23 episodes of the show in less than a week, I realized my first impression couldn’t’ve been more wrong. The show’s third season premiere continues to be no different—and that’s a good thing.

Gretchen and Jimmy are two people who swore they’d never be in love. They hate everything about relationships, yet somehow end up in one after meeting outside of Jimmy’s ex’s wedding reception. Many months later, the two continue loving to hate each other and the fact that they managed to become what they swore they’d never be: a man and a woman who have fallen hard for each other.

Season three addresses this head-on, and does so with the same brutal honesty viewers have come to expect from two of the biggest cynics on television. After a spectacular second season, I don’t think I’d want it any other way. If season one was about overcoming barriers and season two was about dealing with baggage, then it looks like season three will confront growing up, settling down, and trying to be self-aware while doing so. I have no doubt the show will continue to get better and better as it continues to dive deeper into Gretchen and Jimmy’s relationship.

Supporting characters Edgar and Lindsay continue to face these issues in ways that pertain to them, specifically performance issues and the fear of sameness. I’m less interested in their storylines and always find myself enjoying the show more when Gretchen and Jimmy are on the screen, but that doesn’t mean I’m not excited to see where this season takes them—especially after a few surprising moves in the premiere’s final moments. Assuming the show continues to weave in and out through brutal honesty and lighthearted romps like its past two seasons have done so well, You’re the Worst is far from living up to its name.

Leave a Reply

